Fishing Trip Advise Request

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing Forum' started by Sampei, Oct 28, 2013.

1. Sampei

Sampei Member

Hello,
    Next year a friend and I turn 40, and as a celebration we are planning a week long fly fishing trip. We are thinking about a road trip going from river to river, and right now we are looking into the Montana/Idaho/Wyoming area, around September timeframe. This will be my first fly fishing road trip, so i am extremely exited about it, and hope it will be memorable (for all the good reasons). I am hoping to get some advice/opinions from you guys on what area we should concentrate on, rivers that we must hit, fly shops/guides we should hit up, and even not to miss eateries. I am not asking for your secret location (I wouldn't dare), but any help in this initial stage of planning would greatly appreciated.
    Thanks guys!
    Matteo

2. prestonco

prestonco New Member

I have limited experience out west so others will have better answers than I, but I've always loved the town of livingston, mt. Great town, good fly shop, and the yellowstone flows through town. Yellowstone NP is about an hour away (good streams in the NP about 2 hours). If you go to livingston, stay at the Murray Hotel and have drink (or a few) at the bar.

3. Old Man

Old Man Just an Old Man

No matter where you go in Montana, you will catch fish in the Skinny water. I haven't found any sterile water yet. And most of the lakes are loaded with Cutthroat.

I wouldn't limit myself to the Livingston area. In the Dillon area you are close to the Big Hole, Beaverhead, Madison, Ruby. The Gallatin is just a hop, skip, and a step away from here. Not to mention several large Reservoir's that hold big trout.

4. MDK

MDK Active Member

You should look at the posts in the trip section of this website. Several on WY.

5. Salmo_g

Salmo_g Active Member

Sampei,