Fly lines for Salmon

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing Forum' started by Jonduke, Oct 6, 2001.

1. Jonduke

Jonduke New Member

I'm getting a new rod, reel, and line for salmon and steelhead flyfishing... I'm fairly new to this aspect of fly-fishing, so should I get a sink-tip or a floater? I'll mainly be fishing small rivers and creeks, some around here and some up North in Alaska, so I'm not usre if I really need a sink-tip. Thanks in advance-
    Jon

2. Rob Blomquist

Rob Blomquist Formerly Tight Loops

You really ought to have both. I can't imagine not having a sink tip line.

If you were going to buy one now, I would lean toward the sink tip. I really love my type 4 sink tip from SA. Casts like a rocket, sinks like a rock, and great for those deep pools.

Rob

3. guest

guest Guest

all i know is that i use a sink tip 99.9 of the time fly fishing. if i didnt have one i probley would catch as many fish. Ben

4. guest

guest Guest

would't i mean

5. steve s

steve s Active Member

if i were you, i would think about looking into a multi-tip system, they are a bit more expensive, but then you aren't stuck with a sinking tip, when you need a floating.
    or just get a floating line and purchase sinking tips separately, either way, you'll probably be using sink tips more often than not.
    steve sample

6. ray helaers

ray helaers Active Member

Here's what you do: