Green Highlander

Discussion in 'Fly Tying' started by David Dalan, Dec 11, 2012.

1. David Dalan

David Dalan 69°19'15.35" N 18°44'22.74" E

Highlander.JPG

I found some new materials (dyed Turkey tail) and decided to take a pass at a pattern that has both enthralled and vexed me since I was a little kid. I love the colors. It's the only classic other than the Jock Scott and the Thunder and Lighting that I like. But I have come to realize I loath the brown topped wings, golden pheasant tippet toppings, etc. Hides all of the color, IMO. I'm not sure this is "My" Highlander yet, but it's getting closer.

Other than the Turkey wing, I've taken to palmering the Ostrich at the rear (I like the swept look). Other than that it's pretty much the same as any other highlander.

Sorry for the so-so picture. The "good" camera has no battery. And I'm a lousy photographer ;-)

GAT likes this.
  2. Mark Mercer

Mark Mercer Member

Nice tie, I too always loved the greens in the Highlander, thats one thing thats nice about tying, is you can can do whatever you feel like and it's ok. I think you'll find that the more of these you tie the more you will want to tie all (or most of) the parts that the receipts calls for, not necessarily for looks but to challenge yourself to become a better tier, and tying these will improve anyones tying skills. The more difficult the tie, the more rewarding it becomes. Good luck
    Mark

3. David Dalan

David Dalan 69°19'15.35" N 18°44'22.74" E

I agree with you, my "alternate" dressing is certainly impacted by the "pain in the ass-ness" of dressing one as an original. To what degree, varies... And I think I'll get there sooner or later (full dress). I'm learning patience at the vise and appreciation working on the classics (though I still dont like the dark tops). The fact people tie these free hand still floors me.

4. GAT

GAT Dumbfounded

"Sorry for the so-so picture. The "good" camera has no battery. And I'm a lousy photographer ;-) "