HELP! MALFUNCTION!

Discussion in 'Rod Building' started by Nate Dutton, Jan 5, 2012.

1. Nate Dutton

Nate Dutton I'm a teacher, I fish to eat!

Hey Guys, well i have built 4 or 5 rods and love doing it! Everything has been going smoothly until i decide to build a friend as spey for a wedding present. The build was going fine until i epoxied the two tops sections. The epoxying went well but the drying did not. I usually do not try to dry my rods over nice because i like to check in on them but this one i had no choice. One of my rubberbands that hold the rod in place broke so there was not enough tension for the rod to be turned by the dryer, thus the rod settles guides down and the epoxy all ran to that side and made huge lumps. how can i fix this? I have never had to mess with epoxy that has already set. Thanks for any advice and or fixes. BTW it is a sweet looking rod, batson blank 13 6 7/8 blue with metallic blue wraps! Will post pics when fixed.

2. YAKIMA

YAKIMA AKA: Gregory Mine

Obviously, no matter what, you will have to re-coat the threads. You can try slicing off the sag by using a sharp razor blade as close to the threads as possible. then apply another thin coat over the top. Dont go at it like your chopping wood, try slicing off thin portions at a time. This practice is very common when you double coat with thin layers, and have to shave off a peice of lint, or thread fuzz. However if you hit the thread and cut it, you may have to re-thread it as well.

Without actually seeing the sag, I can't even say for sure something like this would even work. If not, you might have to strip the whole rod and start over...

Good luck.

3. Matthew LeBret

Matthew LeBret Active Member