kinky question

Discussion in 'Saltwater' started by Tricky, Mar 16, 2008.

1. Tricky

Tricky Member

I'm pretty new to salt, and I wonder if anybody else is having problems with this- I've got a TFO Ticrx 6wt (which I like A LOT) and I'm using a Rio Outbound clear intermediate "slimeline". The line loads the rod beautifully, and I'm sure would shoot like hell if I could only keep the thin yellow running line from tangling up into a softball-sized squirrel's nest of tangulation. Before every session I hook the line around something and stretch the hell out of about 100' of it, pulling steady for a few minutes, but as soon as it hits the water in the Sound it re-kinks, and I end up with a huge tangle at the stripping guide. This SUCKS!
    Any thoughts, ideas, or suggestions? Has anyone used the Rio versi-tip or the Cortland 444 change-a-tip in cold saltwater? Is there something obvious I'm missing? Does the outbound suck, or am I just a doofus? Any advice welcome.

2. hendersonbaylocal

hendersonbaylocal Member

stretch it out...

3. ibn

ibn Moderator Staff Member

Home Page:
    Yeah you've got to streeeeetch that line out. I use the same line and have for a couple years now. The first thing I do when I start fishing is stretch the line.

4. Tricky

Tricky Member

So how much stretching, and how? What I've been doing is hitching the leader around something solid, pulling out 100' feet or so, and reefing on it. That's not working. How do you all stretch it out?

5. dryflylarry

dryflylarry "Chasing Riseforms"

I would send it in and either have the company replace it or get a refund.
    No line should have that much memory....if so, its junk. Sometimes you will get a bad line from a company. :ray1:

6. ibn

ibn Moderator Staff Member

Home Page: