Marks on Wild Steelhead?

Discussion in 'Steelhead' started by lightsailer, Feb 18, 2003.

1. lightsailer

lightsailer New Member

Hey All,

Caught (and released) a nice 12 pound wild hen yesterday. She was fresh and bright and absolutely full of fight (I'm still tingling). She also had very noticeable marks and scars running vertically along both of her sides. Otherwise very healthy and robust fish.

If I had to guess, they looked like net marks. I've heard about the netting that goes on out on the OlyPen. But, was a little confused to see something like this on the Sky. I'm new to WA., and don't know much about anything (only my second afternoon fishing on this river).

Do steelhead get caught in salmon (or other) nets in saltwater? Anyone know more about what would have caused such conspicuous marks/scars? Sorry, no photographic evidence.

Tightlines,
    John

2. Preston

Preston Active Member

Certainly steelhead, even wild ones, are sometimes netted (and sometimes even released) in salt water. They are also subject to predation by seals, sea lions and sharks that can leave some pretty serious scarring. I've caught some steelhead with healed wounds that one would think would have been fatal and some with up to half of their tails bitten away, which would seem to be a serious risk to their survival. The worst-looking was one I caught on the Tolt years ago with an enormous bite taken out of his back just behind his head, it was almost deep enough to expose his spine.

3. lightsailer

lightsailer New Member

The marks didn't look like a shark bite, and were not the punture wounds you would expect from the teeth of a seal or sea lion. Who knows? Sounds like it could have been a number of things.

That's pretty amazing about the one with a huge bite out of the back of its head.

These fish just boggle my mind. Think of the stories they could tell....

4. speyneznbhm

speyneznbhm been around