Need to build me a driftboat...questions

Discussion in 'Watercraft' started by BOBLAWLESS, Jan 8, 2005.

1. BOBLAWLESS

BOBLAWLESS New Member

I would like to build the boat as I have a full shop of tools, lots of time, love building things etc. How difficult is this using the stitch and glue method? Seems easy but then I have no experience with it.

Questions: does anyone know of any good plans available that you have had personal experience with? I have used the search engine and I have not come up with much.

I figure about 2K will slip through my fingers for this project. Is that about right?

What about just getting a used boat and saying the hell with it? Does anyone have one they might be willing to part with? How much? PM me.

I would like not to have to scarf the plywood. Does anyone know where you can buy some 12' or even 14' sheets?

I might want to fish with a friend. Is 12' big enough or do I need 14'?

Would a small motor well for an electric motor be worth it to traverse long stretches of frog water in the fall?

Any advice will be most appreciated and might land you a free drift somewhere.

Bob, the Just call me “drifty.” :cool:

2. Scott Behn

Scott Behn Active Member

Bob...its not so much the end result, but the trip you take to get there.

If I have the means and the time to build one myself, I would build one.

3. Fishunter

Fishunter Member

Wood boats are the best looking on the water. If I had the time to build one I would. You can customize it to fit what and where you fish. Rod storage, holders, coolers, seats, etc.
    Good luck! I hope you post a picture when you are finished.

4. Monk

Monk Redneck

Bob, I have a buddy who just finished one. I'll have him shoot you a PM. He is a very talented craftsman and he created the plans from scratch. A sixer might convince him to relinquish his plans. :thumb:

5. YAKIMA

YAKIMA AKA: Gregory Mine

Bob,