New to Chumming

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing Forum' started by Steelieblue, Nov 18, 2002.

1. Steelieblue

Steelieblue New Member

Hey Everyone-
    I'm looking for a little help here....I have never fished for chum before and I want to go to the Skagit this weekend to try for them. I have a sufficient eight weight but I don't know what to tie on to the end of my heavy ole leader nor do I know where to look for them. Do I find shallow water, or holding water at the end of tailouts or just cast into the deep blue yonder?
    I am not looking for driving directions, just general if you are willing. Also if anybody is looking for a partner for a trip such as this for this weekend let me know. I am as tightlipped about "secret spots" as the next person, I just need to get my foot in the door so to speak. Thanks for the help. Good luck everybody. Josh :SHOCKED

2. Jon Brengan

Jon Brengan flyfishing addict

jb/1275
    I'm fairly new to this venue, but being addicted to flyfishing for Pacific Salmon - I thought I'd comment to your question. I haven't fished the Skagit Chum run yet - but have had fair success elsewhere.