Washington Fly Fishing Forum banner

orvis line or scientific anglers line

2K views 11 replies 9 participants last post by  Nooksack Mac 
#1 ·
Hey , i am planing on gettin some new floating line soon. Was just wondering if anyone knows how well the trout line from orvis and scientific anglers perform.
Also which one u think is best to get.

Thanks

#2 ·
I hate Orvis lines, and I work in a store that primarily sells Orvis and Cortland, so that should tell you how much I dislike them (I also dislike the Cortlands).

My vote goes to the SA Trout series if you're looking for something for a 5 weight or smaller, or the GPX if you want something for a 6 plus. I have the GPX on my 8 and 6 and the Trout on my 5 and a DT Trout on my 3.

RIO is another good choice.

#4 ·
I have a GPX SA line and I love it. It shoots very well and its easy to mend on my six weight. I managed to scrap it up the first week that I had it and it still floats very well. I heard that Rios new lines are fantastic. If I were you I would cast both on your rod and see which one works best for you.

Tightlines :thumb:

#5 ·
I just bought a SA three weight trout taper and it is by far the sweetest line I've fished. It stays slick and almost makes me look like I can cast. I've had several different brands of lines but for day in day out years of quality performance SA gets my vote.

#7 ·
Orvis and Scientific Anglers lines are of similar if not identical quality. Orvis has it's own coating process for the Wonderline series, and this is every bit as good as the AST coating on the SA lines. Rio is definately in the running for some of the best lines in the game.

Im using the Rio Traditional Double Taper lines this year and they are great.

#8 ·
I have a couple floating 5wt SA Ultra 4's, a WF and DT, that I really like. I bought them for different 5wt's that I have. I also have a Rio Headstart, that I bought one weight higher than the rod I put it on, since it's a very fast action rod.