rookie needs advise

Discussion in 'Rod Building' started by turkish4211, Feb 7, 2007.

1. turkish4211

turkish4211 New Member

I am a complete newbie to rod building but would really love to get into it. I need all the help I can get. Do you guys have any advise as to where to start. What tools do I need? Any good sources to buy blanks and components? Any advise on an easy beginner project? Thanks

Derrick

2. James Mello

James Mello Inventor of the "closed eye conjecture"

There are some threads on this very thing in the archives. Tons of info can be gleaned from it. The Cliff notes of this will read:

1) Take a class if you can afford it: AATF and Greg's Custom rods offer great classes here in the Seattle area.

2) Several books exist, the one from Tom Kirkman is an excellent place to start

3) Don't bite off more than you can chew. You'll have enough problems dealing with wraps and epoxy, so try to avoid doing your own grips and other things right out of the box.

Other than that, feel free to PM me if you want. In general, I'd suggest you spend the dough on the classes. If you can't afford it, or you like roughing it, get a good book...

3. Islander

Islander Steve

I'm no expert, I've only built 2 rods, but I do know James gives some excellent advice. If the classes are to pricey, check into any local FF Clubs. The club on the Island I belong to has classes for very little money or free. Also I got some good info off the web. One site that has a lot of beginner info is the Fly Fisherman Magazine website. They have a great series on rod building by Bob Widgren. Just Google rod building.

4. James Mello

BTW, I'm a complete tool, as I forgot to notice you were in Spokane... I can't vouch for good classes out there, so I'd opt for the book route.

Tools you'll need:

Cardboardbox
    Phonebook
    Good scissors
    Razor blade
    Knitting needle