Scuds or fresh water shrimp

Discussion in 'Stillwater' started by Alaskan, Oct 31, 2017.

1. Alaskan

Alaskan Active Member

Ok so my home water is lake Spokane aka Long Lake and I have been fishing it in the winter for trout for the past five years. The trout really like stripped flies from buggers to bigger bait fish patterns later in the spring and early fall. There are massive chronimid hatches in the spring and summer but I have caught very few fish on them. In the dead of winter a small bugger or micro-leach under a bobber will produce very nicely an I always put a dropper off of the bugger that is some small wet fly and they account for a couple fish per day. Well the other morning I was rigging my rod and decided to put on a small gray scud that had been ridding around on the dash of my pickup since a rocky ford trip last Feb. that thing has been just killing it the last two times I have been out I have caught well over 30 trout on it, and the strikes are so crazy vicious that I have almost lost my rod overboard twice. My question is could there be scuds in a lake that big and warm? Or are there fresh water shrimp? Or does the scud just remind them of the good old days of trout chow back at the hatchery??

Jim Ficklin and Greg Armstrong like this.
  2. CrawBugger

CrawBugger New Member

My bet is there is a healthy population of scuds in the lake. The best way to find out would be to throat pump one of the fish you catch. Then you'll have an honest representative of what's in the lake. Anyway it sounds like you've hit the hot pattern.

3. troutpocket

troutpocket Active Member

4. Alaskan

Alaskan Active Member

That’s what so crazy when we pump them they only have small chronimids or in the late winter snails in them. But they are footballs and healthy.

5. Old406Kid

Old406Kid Active Member

Any chance that they could be taking it as a snail imitation?

6. Alaskan

Alaskan Active Member