Skykomish Dollies

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing Forum' started by jmara6864, Aug 26, 2014.

1. jmara6864

jmara6864 Joey Mara

Saw something I have never witnessed before on the Sky last week. A big pod of Dolly Varden in a small hole. There were about 20-25 of them from 18-30 inches in length. They were mostly staying put but would occasionally chase each other and make high speed runs toward the shallow back end of the hole and then dart back to the deeper water. I tried in vain for a while to get one to bite. Streamers, nymphs you name it I tried it and no takers. I have never tried to target Dolly before. I hear streamers are the way to go? Has anyone seen this behavior before? Does anyone feel like sharing their techniques for catching them?

2. David Bowerman

David Bowerman Member

Home Page:
    This one ate a dead-drifted mega prince on the Sky.

[​IMG]

Kyle Smith likes this.
  3. CLO

CLO Future WFF Mod

They were hiding from Ryan hung.

4. jmara6864

jmara6864 Joey Mara

Awesome!

5. _WW_

_WW_ Geriatric Skagit Swinger

Are you sure they weren't suckers?

the_chemist and bhudda like this.
  6. Earthquake

Earthquake Ron Enyeart

nymph a stonefly right in to them.

But isn't it illegal to target Dollys?

7. stilly stalker

stilly stalker Tuna sniffer

Not on the Sky- 20" minimum to jeep

8. zen leecher aka bill w

zen leecher aka bill w born to work, forced to fish

The rule of thumb was that Labor day was a good time to fish for dollies in the Suiattle. Should work for the Sky also.

9. Smalma

Smalma Active Member