SRC flies

Discussion in 'Saltwater' started by VTDryFly, Nov 28, 2017.

1. VTDryFly

VTDryFly Member

2. VIUcutthroat

VIUcutthroat Active Member

I didn’t look far, but Wooly Buggers, Clousers, and Muddlers all work. Sizes 6-10 here, but maybe one of the Puget Sound guys has better advice. Not sure how to say this diplomatically, (I worked part-time in a shop for awhile) but with flies you get exactly what you pay for. If you live in the area, why not contact a shop and purchase speciality flies. Yes, more money, but likely tied in the North-West, hopefully locally, and those flies should catch fish and be well-constructed.

Eg. I noticed Clousers tied using marabou. Marabou is wonderful stuff, I use it all the time, but cutty teeth shread it in no time. All my clousers are tied using some type of fur.

Anyway, that is just me. I tie, but when I travel to fish, I always make a point of dropping into a local store to pick up a few “guide flies”. There are some amazing tyers in the Seattle area. My 2-cents.

3. VIUcutthroat

One more thing ....... I read their intro and it sounds interesting. Ask him (them) where the flies are tied. They talked about materials in the flies however most companies selling flies tied in the USA would tell you that.

If domestic and well-tied, hell of a price.

4. VTDryFly

VTDryFly Member

Thanks for the info. I actually got some Delia’s squid patterns from poulsbo fly shop that lasted about 30 min of casting before completely unraveling and falling Apart. I paid over 6 bucks for those two flies and never hooked up or anything because I really never even got a chance to cast them before they totally fell apart.

So after that I’m just looking for something that may fish well, gig harbor doesn’t have that fly so I just thought what the hell and looked online. They are based in San Diego.

5. Stonefish

Stonefish Triploid, Humpy & Seaplane Hater

Did the flies possibly fall apart due to your back cast striking the beach?