Trouble on puyallup

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing Forum' started by Mitchell Filing, Sep 2, 2012.

1. Mitchell Filing

Mitchell Filing New Member

fished the puyallup three days in a row and couldnt hook into a fish to save my life. im a novice fly fisherman and need advice. i am a very patient person, but going three days without a bite really makes me angry:mad:

2. Evan Burck

Evan Burck Fudge Dragon

Home Page:
    what are you trying to catch?

3. Mitchell Filing

i was trying to catch coho and chinook salmom, i was using a black, red and purple bunny leaches. then after a while i decided to pursue the small trout pupulation using nymphs. im stumped

4. Tony James

Tony James Member

Are you an Air Force Combat Controller?

5. Mitchell Filing

my father was...i am soon to be. im enlisting in the air force in 11 months and after basic im going to selection

6. Tony James

Tony James Member

ok, I'm retired Air Force and noticed you flashing one of our unit logos - you might consider holding off on that until you're in. Just a thought.

Getting mad about not catching a fish slightly indicates that someone missed a key point about rigging up a flyrod in the first place. Guys and gals don't normally take up fly fishing until they've graduated their anger management modules and have spent years 'fishing' as well as catching via other methods. This game often requires patience, skill, and that 'always learning' attitude. Probably wouldn't hurt to think about trying another river or the salt - that Puyallup is tough sledding right now. How about flinging a fly on the beach, there's lots of info about it on this forum!? I think your chances of hooking up would be pretty good too. Check out the skinny green or pink over white clousers and hang in there...and be patient.

Salmo_g and Mitchell Filing like this.
  7. Mitchell Filing

Well if it really bothers you I'll take it off haha

8. Tony James

Tony James Member