Washington Fly Fishing Forum banner

Waiting Period Chum

4K views 36 replies 24 participants last post by  Ben Guss 
#1 ·
Alright, got the boat out yesterday to scope some water. I found a large group chum at the mouth of a stream. They were jumping, slashing, and finning 360 degrees around my boat for about 3 hours while I tried everything I had to get a bite....and nada! :mad: I'm new to this so maybe it's normal but damn it's frustrating with all these pigs just taunting me from every direction! What do you guys use while targeting chum in the salt, and more specifically do you have any waiting period specific flies for chum? What about presentation? I tried everything I could think of but in general is a fast "coho" retrieve the ticket or a slower retrieve better? Also are the fish feeding as they're finning and jumping or are they just screwing around? I didn't see any bait in the area.

#2 ·
I don't usually fish for Chums in the Sound or Canal more than a couple of times each year, but I've had better luck getting them to bite off the beach using slower retrieves. I try to cast just outside the edge of the school, hopefully in front of it. Casting right into the school spooks 'em, at least off the creek mouths I usually fish. Maybe you should position your boat off of the concentration of the fish and cast to them, instead of being right in the middle of them. I don't know where you are fishing, but where I fish, the schools are often small and moving around the area off the creek mouth, and are easily spooked. I'm usually wading off the beach, and not fishing for them from a boat.
I vary between longer strips and short ones. Sometimes I pause between strips long enough to let the fly sink a bit. Get too close to the bottom, though, and you get sculpins.
Flies? Not too big, I think. I've had luck with size 6. Chartreuse, green, hot pink, or black/purple.

#3 ·