what fly line should i use??

Discussion in 'Stillwater' started by Jpfish, Sep 18, 2012.

1. Jpfish

Jpfish Active Member

I am fairly new to fly fishing. I am going up to pass lake soon and all i have right now is floating line. Any ideas on what would be the best kind of line to purchase?
    Thanks

2. Roper

Roper Idiot Savant

Full sink, the faster, the better. You want to get the fly down to where the fish are quicker, no sense in sitting around waiting...;)

Jpfish likes this.
  3. Jpfish

Jpfish Active Member

thank you.

4. Go Fish

Go Fish Language, its a virus

I agree with Roper,
    and add a uniform sink, a clear camo,
    a sink tip,
    two or three more spools for your reel
    (or two or three more reels)
    and extra rod or three
    (so you don't have to waste time)
    and a big truck to haul that new
    raft, boat, or travel trailerto your
    favorite spot.

Quit now before it's to late,

Dave

Jager, mtskibum16, Jeff Dodd and 3 others like this.
  5. Irafly

Irafly Indi "Ira" Jones

Ok, I have been playing around with this concept quite a bit. Your best bet is your floater. There is not a depth that you can not fish with your floater. If you are limited to one line the floater is your line. I fish all the depth zones of Pass with a floater without hesitation. I also use an indicator and flies that are not traditional to the indicator. For example the last time I was out I caught fish on a Pat's Stone under an indicator there. Learn where the fish are eating and what they are eating and you can almost always catch them on the indicator if you match that and what it is doing.

6. Jpfish

Jpfish Active Member

7. Jpfish

Jpfish Active Member

how do i get my floating line that far down?

8. Irafly

Irafly Indi "Ira" Jones