Washington Fly Fishing Forum banner

What I've been doing instead of catching fish

NFR 
3K views 34 replies 20 participants last post by  mtskibum16 
#1 ·
I have fished very little for the last few months. I have instead been turning my three car garage into living space for the mil and other guests.
I am not a builder by trade but i work with former builders who have helped guide me so far. Its a challenge to get straight level new lines in a 65 year old building. So far i have framed/ reframed it. I have most of the windows in. A coworker and i put up sheathing over the old garage doors last week.
I am hiring out rough plumbing, insulation and drywall shortly after i return from vacation, so things will move quickly as i transition from figuring out what to do to writing checks.
I hope to have it done by lingcod or at least salmon season. Its been super fun so far. I have learned so much. Building stuff with my hands has been rewarding as i produce nothing tangable at work.
I have determined that i have earned a good long steelhead orgy in March, after that it wull be back to work.
Go sox,
Cds
Wood Composite material Building material Concrete Soil
Brown Wood Trunk Grass Twig
Wood Door Wood stain Hardwood Gas

Attachments

See less See more
#6 ·
It is intimidating. Fortunately, you can get all sort of tutorials for anything on YouTube. I have one friend at work who has built many homes. He has come over and told me what I was doing wrong. He is a building inspector now. I got plans drawn up by a coworker. That saved me a bundle too. I have quite a bit to go. I'll have to install the shower, sink, and toilet as well as the on demand water heater. Electrical has to be run, doors, trim, gable and roof vents, siding. Luckily I have done a lot of those before.
It's pretty much like building a little 800 square foot home except I don't get to start off with a level line.