Which small lake boat to get?

Discussion in 'Watercraft' started by Vojak, May 28, 2011.

1. Vojak

Vojak Member

Hey all,

I'm a newb to the boat owner arena so I'll apologize in advance if these questions are "stupid". Basically I'd like to get a boat (not inflatable) that I can use for taking the family (myself, wife and daughter) out on smaller lakes. Of course, I would like to do some fishing while we're taking in the scenery (which is the primary angle I'm running with) :) The requirements (as far as I know anyway) are:

1. Non inflatable boat that can accomodate 2 adults and a child
    2. Will only be used on small/calm lakes
    3. Easy hookup for electric motor (most of the smaller lakes around western WA only allow electric).
    4. Doesn't cost an excessive amount of moneys
    5. Easy to transport. I'd like to avoid a trailer if at all possible. We have an Oddessey 2006 van but not sure what options there are for easy transport.
    6. Related to (5), we live in a house but storage (for trailer/boat) is limited. Realistically, a boat would probably be the max (i.e., no trailer). If it could fit going through the gate to the backyard I could prop it up against the house. The gate is roughly 50 inches wide so it would probably have to moved on its side.

Like I said, I'm a complete newb to this (I do have a pontoon but that is different) and if my requirements are way out of whack feel free to tell me so :)

Thanks in advance!

2. Ed Call

Ed Call Mumbling Moderator Staff Member

Two person pram or a jon boat seem like they would fit your needs. Rack with a roller on the roof and you are set.

3. KerryS

KerryS Ignored Member

4. yellowlab

yellowlab Active Member

Home Page:
    Aluminum 12-14' with V-Hull. I can't imagine leaving a nice wood boat outside.

5. Rob Ast

Rob Ast Active Member

14' boat is a bit much to handle without a trailer, heck even a 12' might be heavy to roof-top. However for 3 of you anything smaller would be pretty cozy.