Why Steelhead?

Discussion in 'Steelhead' started by Muskypicker, May 8, 2011.

1. Muskypicker

Muskypicker Member

So after a lifetime of conventional fishing, this is my first year of pursuing fly fishing full time.
    The more about fly fishing I read, the more I read about so many people truly obsessed with steelhead fishing. Can you help me understand? What is it about steelhead that makes people so passionate about pursuing them?

Chris

2. Evan Burck

Evan Burck Fudge Dragon

Home Page:
    It's one of those things that can only be explained through experience. Everything about steelheading sounds miserable: worst weather, solid skunkings, repetetive step swing routine.... But there's a mystique about steelhead that I haven't found in any other fish.

3. bkerbs

bkerbs Member

You will not understand until you feel the tug. The tug is the drug.

4. Matthew Gulbranson

Matthew Gulbranson Resident Swinger

If I really knew the answer to this question I could be rich. But alas, I am not, and I keep buying more things to continue my addiction. That's really about the closest I can get to answering your question. I thought steelheaders were crazy before I started. Now I am just another addict/junkie like the rest of them. Kinda like hookers and blow, you just don't know until you try it a few times....just sayin'. (sorry, just had to slip that in there somewhere).

5. Buck

Buck "Ride'n Dirty."

I think it's more like misery loves company. Steelhead fishing is (as mentioned) time wasted, humbling, expensive, and conducted usually in shit weather. Each one of us, that has put the time in knows what a pain in the ass the first one is, so, if you want to really know, do your time. Lots of good info on this site, lots of good shops that can help you with gear, and best of luck.....Sucker!

J/K.....(kind-of).

6. Muskypicker

Muskypicker Member