Z-axis of shot guns??

I'm new to upland hunting and looking to invest in a decent 12 ga. I'm looking for a shotgun that's akin to the Sage Z-axis (or XP) of fly rods. In other words high end main stream, but nothing fancy. Would a Browing Citori 625 Field be akin to the Z-axis? What about the Fausti guns that Cabelas now carries? Your help is much appreciated.

shawn k

dont buy a 12 gauge if all you are going to do is upland bird hunt. Get a 20 or 28 gague
I am partial to berettas but I also have a browning citori.

Jmills81

The Dude Abides
dont buy a 12 gauge if all you are going to do is upland bird hunt. Get a 20 or 28 gague
I am partial to berettas but I also have a browning citori.
ahh, sure, if you are hunting release site birds, but a 12 gauge is standby on wild birds when your only shot could be a long one

From Quail to Pheasants, a 12 is the most versitile gun in my opinion

der ya go

A Beretta 687 could be a nice choice for you. That's a hell of a gun

There are many fine o/u guns. I'm partial to brownings, weatherby makes a fine gun, the italians are sexy too. You'll only be happy with a gun that fits. It's that important. It ain't like a fly rod, it must fit.

I personally think the benelli autoloader is the most versatile, most reliable, and easiest to fit. I sold a nice browning o/u to get it. But I understand.

Get a 12 ga. Again, more versatile than the others.

gt

as a long time shotgunner, 28ga for upland birds choked IC/IC. this is 1/8 oz less shot than the 20ga and a great deal lighter and way more fun to use frequently. i prefer the O/U over other actions for upland.

best thing is to go shoot some at a skeet range to see which stocks fit the best. there is a world of difference in the combs of these off the shelf units. length of pull can easily be accomodated by a competent gun smith.