Washington Fly Fishing Forum banner

Line recommendation for a cheap rod

1K views 13 replies 6 participants last post by  scifidelity 
#1 ·
Hi looking for some line advice as I have been gifted a cheap Maxcatch V switch if anyone has heard of it in an 11ft #6 by a non fly fishing buddy who received it as a gift himself. I'm pretty new to two handers and my experience is with a 13'6 #8 Spey so I'm hoping I can call on some forum experience.
What I can find out about the rod is :

11ft #6 IM10 /30T+36T
Rod weight: 187 grams
Medium-fast action

I have a Rio outbound short which should do the job for overhead but would like to pick up a line for swinging sink tips and heavy-ish flies for Bull trout up here. I have been looking into the OPST commando heads and they seem promising but the short head length worries me as a newish Spey caster also on my radar is the airflo skagit scout and the skagit switch.

Any advice greatly appreciated.

Eoin

#2 ·
The tricky question here is: is that 6-weight rating based on single handed or spey/switch weight standards? If you own or can borrow a #6 line, try it and see how it casts. I built a cheap 11 foot, 5 weight into my first switch rod. It spey cast ok with a WF6F line; lightish, like a scandi line. A WF7f/s casts like a Skagit line on that rod. Again, that was for a "5-weight" rod blank.

#3 ·
Hey thanks for the reply. I took the rod out this weekend and tried it with the 8 weight Rio outbound and it handled it pretty easily if anything it probably could have taken the 9 weight outbound. So on that basis I'm guessing that it is rated as a #6 switch. I'm trying to decide between an airflo Skagit scout or a opst commando and also what grain weight to go for.

#4 ·