Fix a flat to repair leak?

Dan Massaro

I have a Steelheader II pontoon boat. Over the last couple trips I've noticed a slow leak in one of the tubes. I tried tightening the valve which didn't resolve the issue. I then tried to see if I could find a pinhole with soapy water, which again was unsuccessful. I called the manufacturer and they recommended I remove the the valve, spray fix a flat directly into the tube, shake it up, and reinflate it. Is this a common method of repairing inflatables? I have found nothing online to support this method of repair. Does anyone else have a better solution to locating/repairing the leak?

Thanks

Robert Engleheart

Robert
WFF Supporter
WTF? sounds wrong to me, but I'm no expert. Doesn't seem like a can would be enough (assuming your tubes are what; 15" x 12'?) and not enough pressure at 3 psi to move the material to the leak. There's gotta be a better way.

Dan Massaro

Yeah 22" by 12'. I think I'm going to go back at it with the soapy water method and just try to be really thorough. My fear is the excess fix a flat gunking up the valves once's I screw it back on.

jeff bandy

Make my day
Sounds like a very bad idea to me. What happens if it gets in the valve? Will the tubes handle deflation and reinflation? Will it cause a breakdown of the materials/glues?

chromefinder

I Agree, bad idea using the fix a flat...

Take your time and find the leak with soapy water

Then fix it properly:
  • If its just a small pinhole you can use a thin coat of Aquaseal
  • For a very quick (on the water temporary pin hole repair) Aquaseal UV or similar works
  • For a small tear or puncture I've had good results using 2 Part Stabond Glue and PVC material patch

Peyton00

Can you take the single toon to a lake and submerge it?
Try and bury the valve under water and look for bubbles. Then do sections at a time. I use my mothers swimming pool for situations like this. Bring your inflater with ya. Good luck.

BDD