Question - Looking For A Lightweight Backpacking Float Tube

Jon Brengan

flyfishing addict
Hi all, I have searched the internet and found a few of these float tubes - just wondering if anyone out there have backpacked any particular tubes into high mountain lakes - and have suggestions on any particular models of tubes or have suggestions on models? Have looked at Outcast and Wilderness Lite models but I imagine that there have to be others - before I shell out a couple hundred dollars on a lightweight tube I thought I'd see if anyone out here on this forum had any suggestions. Thanks - any input is gladly accepted.
Jon

Peyton00

No float tube tips for ya here, but i suggest you think about a pack raft.

I have been hiking and fishing alpine lakes for 25+ yrs. I use a little raft. It packs down and weighs a bit, but take into account the neoprene waders, fins etc needed for a float tube system, its gotta be close to my setup. Its pretty tough and takes a beating, at $75 for the raft, oars/pump included, its not breaking the bank. At a 440lb weight limit, it means the lady can come out on the water and play along too if she so desires.
I have plenty of room in the raft for all my gear, clothes, lunch etc. when out solo, I am 6'4" 225lbs. I am not affected by the water temps being out of the water( in the raft) and will spend all day on the lake ( naps included).
I also use my raft as my bed/shelter when i do overnighters during fair weather trips. I tried the float tube years ago, but it wasnt versatile enough for my game.

Good luck in your quest.

tyafly

No float tube tips for ya here, but i suggest you think about a pack raft.