Washington Fishing And Hunting License Increases

jstlhd

I received this from Kirk Pearson, Senator 39th District and have responded and wanted to share here.
To me its seems that as increases are inevitable, these are a bit much for the return they promise.
I personally would like a little more detail on where the money goes and how it is used. Unfortunately as Washington State seems to raise, raise, raise taxes and fees, there always ends up being very little return and as we all saw this past year, decreases in opportunities to hunt and fish. Bigger government and more regulation seems to be the key here in my opinion again with very little benefit to hunters and fishermen.
I appreciate the men and women that work for the WDFW in the field and I have had some positive experiences with regards to access and such, so if the money is going to go for more officers out there enforcing laws, I could get behind an increase of some sort.
If however it is more of the same...promises without results, count this as one more reason for me to leave the state and go to one that is more friendly to outdoor activities, access and gun rights.

Dear Friends and Neighbors,

The 2017 legislative session started this week and we’re already hard at work. One of the issues I’ll be working on is a proposal from the state Department of Fish to increase hunting and license fees significantly. You can read more about it below and send me your feedback. I’ll be holding hearings on this in the weeks ahead, so I’d like to know what you think.

As always, if there is any way I can help make our state government work better for you, please don’t hesitate to send me your ideas, questions, or concerns.

FKkA2QykC77bPrfdPh9gg6zSWHvaOomiEaksW6hWSO-7jmYLdao0y0Hss-EsMF7XfBdPtT-iOSyASR0OiLjwJOM8hFFeo42M7G6uwKna-A5VdgxsoejqUernRcO3lC3I1QRPt0z2077dVSAmMoWeZnaxof2H6aGypGGq0UCYL_vBbISpXh5B1dw=s0-d-e1-ft

Increasing Hunting and Fishing Fees: What Do You Think?