Rewrap a custom Sage Light Line, guidance please!

para_adams

I bought a Sage 389-2 LL rod custom built on a 389-2B blank. The guide wraps are not my favorite, to put it mildly, so I'm hoping I can strip the wraps and refinish the rod....without doing ANY damage to the blank. I have lots of experience stripping and refinishing bamboo rods but have no experience doing this with graphite and epoxied wraps. How do I safely remove the old wraps? Can the old remnant expoxy be completely removed without damaging the surface of the blank? Tips please. Thanks, Ron

John Parker

I watched one sell a couple of months ago and wondered the same thing, except I have zero rod building experience. It was very unattractive as well.
Does yours have green wraps?

para_adams

No help offered here, but after doing a lot of online searching I've got the question answered. Heat an epoxied wrap gently using my alcohol burner until the outer layer of epoxy softens, then use a plastic knife to scrape off as much epoxy as I can remove, then repeat two or three more times until the thread wrap can be unwound. There will be some residual epoxy left under and next to the wrap which I then can carefully reheat and scrape off. The last residues of epoxy can then be removed by rubbing with a DNA wetted towel which softens those remnants and allows them to be scraped off with my thumbnail or the plastic knife. A little final polishing with the DNA wetted towel and that section of the blank looks good as never wrapped. Sweet. The process is a bit time consuming but is not that difficult. I'm looking forward to recreating this old 389-2 Light Line into a new custom rod. Its gonna be a beauty.

That doesn't sound too complicated, I'd get into that.
G2 or G3 blank?
I've always wondered if there is much difference?
I wouldn't have anything but a 2 pc.
Are you going back all new hardware?
I'm already seeing the upside of rod building, get to buy more stuff! :D