Lone Lake and Yakima this weekend...

I fished Lone Lake on Saturday 2/19 with a bit of luck, two decent fish on olive and burgundy mohair leeches and one larger rainbow on an olive chironomid pattern. I am rather new at fishing chironomid so I lost a few on the hook set. :hmmm: The weather was great when the sun was out but the water was still cold holding around 42 degrees on the top three feet.
I worked the lower canyon of the Yakima on Sunday from 11:35 – 4:45, a little overcast at times with a water temp of 39 degrees (if I am remembering right, should write that stuff down). Due to lack of funds for a pontoon or drift boat I am forced to wade so I have a few hot spots that I try to work regularly. I found a minimal amount of stone flies in the section of water I worked with an even smaller amount of mayfly nymphs ranging in size of 18 to 20. I tried to focus on runs that dropped into deeper water so I could adjust presentation methods to hit fish that were stratified at different levels. I fished a #12 Prince Nymph or a Bloody Mary and a San Juan Worm as a dropper. The fishing was great! I had about five white fish, and about eight or nine rainbows a few of which were I the 15-18 inch range. I tried to strike anything that moved my indicator, the hits were very subtle.
The Yakima should be great in two to three weeks, saw quite a few boaters so it could be crowed out there this spring. I should be out there this Sat/Sun if you see a green Honda and a black baseball hat come say hello.

*Sorry I don't post more I don’t have a computer at home and I think my work ‘spies’ on my internet usage….sneaky punks! (now I am sure to get fired) :beathead:

Thanks for the report. I agree, the Yakima should be rocking this spring as the warmer temps arrive. The lack of snowpack, while not a good thing in general, will probably mean lower flows on the Yakima all year.