I need a new cot

Lesson #1- Cheap cots are just that, cheap.
Lesson #2- Little boys grow into teenagers. Teenagers are tough on cots.
Lesson #3- New cots aren't cheap.

Looking for a new cot that won't require a loan. Needs to be teen worthy. Thanks.

Jim Ficklin

Genuine Montana Fossil
My Cousins & I NEVER wore-out or otherwise damaged old WWII surplus Army cots. And assembling one provided a good workout while providing an exercise in being both patient and persistent. As a matter of fact, I still have one after all these years . . .

Shapp

I've been using Camp time roll-a-cots since the mid 1990s when we were camping out for work all summer long 4 days per week. After I left that job we bought 2 roll-a-cots for personal use and we still have those 2 and they are still in great shape nearly 18 years latter. Lots of nights sleeping on them (standard blue roll-a-cot). A nice thing is that they are made in USA in Washington state. I have seen them occasionally on craigslist. They are usually cheapest to buy new here (not sure if they meet your price point requirement):
https://www.camptime.com/collections/cots

LOVE roll-a-cots. Could put two regular sized ones in the back of my short-box F-150. Roll-a-cot plus a thick REI inflatable mattresses you sleep like a princess minus the pea. Broke the plastic foot on one and the guys in Spokane replaced it in a few days.

Greg Armstrong

OldRodsHaveMoreFun
Teenagers don't need no stinkin' cots (espacially $140~ cots!!)!

I spent a whole summer sleeping on the ground. Just hike w/ 45lb pack 10 or 12 miles through steep mountains, dig a depression for the hips, roll your shirt up to make a pillow, then sleep.

Don't make this too complicated. It's E-Z!! Builds character too.

Jerry Daschofsky

Staff member
If you want to go inexpensive but super strong you can look at current issue military cots. I've found them as cheap as $20 and usually as high as $50. Heavy weight capacity. I toss a nice pad on it and sleep solid.