Carbon river

Mark Kadoshima

I'm new to river fishing, but really enjoy and have learned a lot reading all your threads. Figure about time I started contributing for whatever it's worth. I get out about every weekend.
Fished the Carbon above Orting this morning. Beautiful water, green and clear. Had a couple runs all to myself. Didn't see any fish (although I'm not very good at sighting fish yet) and no hookups although can't beat three hours of swinging flies in the morning!
A question I have is I was using a 7 wt switch rod (11'6'')and the river is only maybe 60 feet across, and the good water was sometimes right at my feet. Should I bring my single hand 8wt or 6 wt next time? I've never caught a steelhead before, so want to try to release it as healthy as possible, but I felt like I was doing some overkill. Any input is appreciated.

Peyton00

Its better in the area east of town and farther down river(north).
U should be into coho this time of year.
Steelhead are very scarce and wild or strays.

Enjoy, its a beautiful river this time of year.

If ya see guys swinging spoons and spinner.....they are often productive, make a note of the slots.

Good luck!

Mark Kadoshima

Thanks for the info! The wife is giving me a hallpass for tomorrow morning (bless her heart!)....gonna have to give it a try.
I'm practicing for some solo trips to the OP. Is it a total waist of time until January?

dustinchromers

I'm new to river fishing, but really enjoy and have learned a lot reading all your threads. Figure about time I started contributing for whatever it's worth. I get out about every weekend.
Fished the Carbon above Orting this morning. Beautiful water, green and clear. Had a couple runs all to myself. Didn't see any fish (although I'm not very good at sighting fish yet) and no hookups although can't beat three hours of swinging flies in the morning!