Sous Vide. Anyone use it?

Trapper

Author, Writer, Photographer
I’m more of a Dutch Oven with coals kind of cook. I don’t pay much attention to kitchen gadgets that require electricity because I don’t always have power where I cook.

This device intrigued me mostly because trying to make eggs benedict (I like using chorizo or crab instead of ham) for a group is a challenge because of the poached eggs. I also like the idea of slow cooking.

Has anyone used it?

Dinner at friends Tuesday night. Sous vide pork loin at 137 degrees for 2.5 hours then seared on the grill. Outstanding! Very tender, flavorful and juicy.
Looking into getting one now.

Trapper

I tried to google this question but didnt find an answer. I sent this email to their help desk.

I’m a contract cook. I work on boats and lodges. I typically cook for less than 20 people.

I’m interested in your product.

How do you know when the internal temperature of say a steak is 120°F? If, for example I’m cooking a 16 oz 1” thick steak vs a 16 oz 2” thick petite filet, I obviously can easily know the water temperature, but how do I check the meat itself?

dld

I got into sous vide several months ago. I did 2" thick pork loin chops last night. Best $100 gadget ever.

I didn't want wifi or bluetooth, so I opted for the Wancle brand, they claim they put more into the circulation pump and heating element instead of the communication features.

Having a torch for touching up searing helps a lot.

I posted a thread about the carnitas I made, and the resulting torta. http://www.washingtonflyfishing.com/forum/threads/carnitas.134752/

Definitely check out the 'Serious Eats' blog for tips.

Steaks come out amazing. Roasts take a long time (~24hrs for a pork shoulder, or chuck roast). Fish and shrimp in butter are great. Asparagus is beautiful and sweet.