Advice on 6 weight switch rod

I have a g Loomis 11 foot 6 weight switch rod. What is better to throw a scandi line or Skagit line? This will be my trout rod and pink salmon rod. Most of the water I will be fishing is less than 5 feet deep. I will be throwing small woolie buggers and other small streamers. I was considering the sa spey light in 330 scandi or as spey light in 360 Skagit. What do you guys suggest? I am pretty new with switch rods.

Are you beach fishing for Pinks or in the river. If on the Beach forget both the Skagit and Scandi Heads and go with a intergrated switch line. It is easier to strip right into the poly leader and then get it back out again.

If in the river then go with either a intergrated switch line or Scandi. As the Skagit is only needed for throwing heavy tips and flies. Another option would be an Airflo Rage, which is a combination between a scandi and skagit.

There are a ton of options, and there really is not one do it all line.

Sent from my SM-G930W8 using Tapatalk

If I were throwing small flies using touch and go casting, my line of choice would be a scandi. However, if my back was against an obstruction, I would be on some sort of short skagit head i.e. OPST, Switch or Skagit Max Short. Another choice would be the Airflo Rage. You have a lot of options.
Tight lines,
Keith

longstick

I have a g Loomis 11 foot 6 weight switch rod. What is better to throw a scandi line or Skagit line? This will be my trout rod and pink salmon rod. Most of the water I will be fishing is less than 5 feet deep. I will be throwing small woolie buggers and other small streamers. I was considering the sa spey light in 330 scandi or as spey light in 360 Skagit. What do you guys suggest? I am pretty new with switch rods.
I would recommend a 420 skagit and a 360 Scandi