Washington Fly Fishing Forum banner

Some helpful tips for the new fishers.

Tags
new tips
773 views 5 replies 4 participants last post by  TJ Fisher 
#1 ·
I've only recently began my journey to fly fishing PS and have found a lot of information on here. I'm also new to fly fishing in general receiving my first fly rod on January 4th of this year. So below is some thing that have been a huge help to me.

Practice, practice, practice. I practiced casting every day in the back yard before even thinking about hitting any body of water.

Once your comfortable and are ready to try some live practicing, scout scout and scout some more. Walk the beach, watch the tides, check locations at different times of the day and don't limit yourself to 1 or 2 spots. Be prepared to put some miles on your vehicle (currently at 400 miles just scouting areas in the few weeks I've been fish)

Don't expect to walk onto a beach and catch fish.

Keep logs of locations times tides and weather even if your just scouting. This becomes extremely useful the more you get out there.

Don't expect others to do the work for you. Part of the enjoyment is the journey in putting all of thus together.

Read all you can on the different species you intend to fish for! The more you know the easier it becomes.

And lastly, there are many experienced fly fishermen on this site. Don't be afraid to ask a question or seek guidance on technique, presentation ECT. Everyone here has been amazing in helping in my journey thus far.

Tight lines!

Tim

See less See more
#2 ·
Two very important tips to add....

1. Be sure to get a Hello Kitty sticker for your stripping basket. Without one you're basically just wasting your time out there.

2. If you take a ferry over to the other side of the sound to fish, do NOT, I repeat do NOT cross paths with the KBG. Those cats are just mean!

#5 · (Edited)
Practicing fly fishing on a lawn is like practicing swimming on a tennis court.