Alpine Laker in search of fish

I’m relatively new to Washington and am looking for places to go Alpine lake fishing. I’m not afraid to hike in fact I prefer it if it means getting away from crowds and finding bigger, more stupid fish. Anyone want to share with me their second best spot? I’m especially interested in the Alpine Lakes Wilderness. I took a trip there last summer to the Foss River area and hit up a bunch of lakes and did pretty poorly. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

no thanks. :) the best way to get away from crowds is to find a place you have never heard of or seen mentioned and walk there (bonus points for spots with no marked trail on the map). safe travels.

more then happy to give advice on fishing alpine lakes or backpacking though. let me know if you have questions in that regard.

Salmo_g

Hey, you're looking for the same lake as I am! The one with the big stupid trout. I like to hike ultra-light, and I only need to carry one fly pattern when the trout are stupid enough.

Regarding which lakes, check the WDFW website. It lists high lake stocking by county, fish species, and date or naturally reproducing. Unfortunately there is no list of big stupid ones. You might consider joining the High Lakers or Trail Blazers and learn about their high lake and fish stocking activities. But they make you give up your first born before they tell you where the big stupid trout are.

Hint: if a well known and popular trail passes by a lake, that's not where the big stupid ones are.

Shad

Never fished the Alpine Lakes Wilderness. I've found plenty of big, stupid trout in the lowlands and foothills (for about 2 months per year). When I do fish in the high country, I typically find the trout stupid, but rarely do I find them large. Of course, that doesn't mean I can't appreciate the extra sweetness that comes with hiking into that cool spot. The fishery you work for is often the most rewarding.