NFR Subaru Head Gaskets

scottybs

Well my ‘07 Impreza with 87,000 miles went into the shop for an estimate on a leaking valve and a 90k service. Well they found a leaking head gasket too. Not too happy, I’ve read Subie’s are notorious for developing a head gasket leak. I’ve been told writing Subaru of N.A. that they may offer some compensation? Anyone have luck with this? Coming from a 95 Accord this car has been a disappointment from a maintenance standpoint.

ffb

Ditto above. Do the timing belt, tensioner, idler pulleys, and water pump at the same time as it will really only add parts cost to the bill and you're close to being due for that maintenance anyways. Most Subarus it's not a matter of if but when on a head gasket job, and you're right about the point where they seem to go. My 01 Outback went at 120k, and the handful of head gasket jobs I did when I was a tech were in that same mileage range too. Have seen dropped valve guides on the higher mileage ones, easy to see when the heads are off.

Lymitliss

87k is a little soon, but not unreasonable. Especially for those cars, it's just a bad design. I work for Honda, not Subaru, but we have a "Goodwill" program, where corporate will occasionally cover part of the bill IF you have been a loyal customer to the dealership. It might be worth looking into, but I wouldn't expect any help with an 11 year old car.

scottybs

87k is a little soon, but not unreasonable. Especially for those cars, it's just a bad design. I work for Honda, not Subaru, but we have a "Goodwill" program, where corporate will occasionally cover part of the bill IF you have been a loyal customer to the dealership. It might be worth looking into, but I wouldn't expect any help with an 11 year old car.