Loop Evotec 8120?

Kyle Smith

DBA BozoKlown406
I wanted a good rod for winter steelhead and Columbia basin kings, so I jumped on the 12' 8wt Evotec.

Just over $200 at Fishwest/Vail, they have a few left at this price! It showed up yesterday and it looks really nice.

Anybody here used this rod? Rio suggested a grain window of 500-525 for Skagit. Does this sound light?

I made the mistake of ordering Airflo Skagit Compact 510 before asking around. If it is too light I guess I will find a stronger 7wt switch to cast it with and go heavier for the Loop rod.

I was looking at the rod. Did you get the medium fast or the fast action? Curious to know what you think? I could not find too many reviews of the rod.

Kyle Smith

DBA BozoKlown406
I was looking at the rod. Did you get the medium fast or the fast action? Curious to know what you think? I could not find too many reviews of the rod.
I am still a rookie to 2-handed fishing, so I can't offer much input. I have the MF model. It seems to have a strong tip and butt with a fast recovery. And it cost less than a Dually.

I have been fishing a switch for 9 months and watching YouTube lessons. Hopefully this is a piece of gear I can grow into.

I have been two handing for a couple years now. I mostly use a 7wt Sage Brownie but was considering getting something a little larger. The Loop's seem more popular in Europe and Canada as they come from Sweden so it was hard to find reviews and such.
I can't recommend a lesson enough.

Kyle Smith

DBA BozoKlown406
I have been two handing for a couple years now. I mostly use a 7wt Sage Brownie but was considering getting something a little larger. The Loop's seem more popular in Europe and Canada as they come from Sweden so it was hard to find reviews and such.
I can't recommend a lesson enough.
The next time there is a spey class here in Bozeman (there was one last year) I will have to jump on it.