Shipping a firearm?

I need to get my gun from my now ex-girlfriend’s house in Anchorage down to me in Seattle. It’s a Springfield XD. Has anyone shipped a gun? Do I go through a gun shop/dealer? Super easy to check it with luggage on Alaska Airlines but I don’t think I’m headed up anytime soon. Any info/help appreciated.

Jordan

Josh

dead in the water
CAVEAT: I am not a lawyer or firearms expert. My advice is worth exactly what you paid for it.

-------------

Short answer, go ship through a FFL holder (gun shop/dealer). Generally, shipping individual to individual across state lines is a big "NO". There is an exception for people shipping weapons to themselves in another state (for a hunting trip for example). But I'm guessing they assume that you will then ship it back to yourself (or carry it back with you). I suspect that there are no provisions for having someone other than the owner ship it to you. Even if you are the legal owner.

I think any option other than taking it to a FFL and having them ship it to you is going to place your ex (or whatever friend is trying to help you) in fairly significant legal jeopardy. It may also be possible for your ex/friend to ship the gun to a FFL holder in your area where you could then go pick it up. But that might be more complicated and I don't feel as confident that it would go well.

All in all, it might be worth a trip to your local gun shop to ask their advice on the situation.

https://www.atf.gov/firearms/qa/may-nonlicensee-ship-firearm-common-or-contract-carrier

https://www.atf.gov/firearms/qa/may...s-or-her-use-hunting-or-other-lawful-activity

I had to ship a rifle up to AK a couple weeks ago. It was $40 dollars for “paperwork” and $195 to actually ship. Maybe a pistol would be cheaper though. Just call your local FFL and they will help you out.

Didley