Samish River east of I-5

I live in Anacortes and have been Stillwater fly fishing the local lakes for about 8 months now. But after crossing the Samish River on I-5 several times I finally did a little research. I simply want to fish a stream that is fairly close to my home (for trout). It seems that "combat fishing" is done at the mouth at times but I am much more interested in fishing for cutthroat upstream. Roger #2 south and Roger #1 North (whatever that means) seem to be access points. It appears that this stream is opening for "trout" so I have some questions for you folks . Is this a fishing opportunity ? What kind/type of flies? Is the Bayside-Edison bridge a possible spot and are there any possibilities farther up towards Friday Creek? Any input or guidance (as always) would be much appreciated from this total newbie, Jim

Old Man

Just an Old Man
Lots of Searun Cutthroat in there when the Salmon are running You can access it at most bridges And there are a few public fishing access east of the freeway. But they are hard to find. Give hedburner a PM. He know that little river pretty good.

Smalma

The Samish has a good population of wild winter steelhead (though above I-5 it is closed in the winter) as a result the vast majority of the "trout" are juvenile steelhead (3 to 7 inches). As OMJ mentioned there is a decent population of coastal cutthroat and as the norm for sea-runs the fishing is seasonal (late summer/fall); be sure to check the regs. There are a few resident rainbows but hard to find for all the juvenile steelhead.

With the dry weather the last month or so the Samish has been flowing at extremely low levels (about 1/2 of normal for this time of year). From now until the fall rains while called a "river" the Samish is really low elevation creek.

Curt