Fishing with a mid-belly line

the_grube

I picked up a Beulah Aero for my SageX 7130 a while back. I've taken a few trips with it that were really just casting practice with a non-zero chance of encountering a fish. https://www.washingtonflyfishing.com/forum/index.php?threads/140472/

My local river here is starting to drop into conditions that are ripe for greased line and traditional wet swing fishing. I've gotten out a few times. I'm new to the 2 handed game; less than 2 years overall, and this is my first fishing experience with anything longer than a scandi. Here are some thoughts.

Back cast room: The notion that you need a lot of back-cast room for a longer shooting head is mostly a myth. I can roll cast the entire 47' head, 14' of leader and shoot about another 10' of running line with virtually no back-cast room needed.

Fishing short: It's surprisingly easy and effective. Real short casts aren't pretty (throwing 14' of leader with the first 10' of a shooting head...) But, it's a lot of fun high sticking a wet fly through a run with all or most the fly line off the water -- I guess that makes me a EuroNympher? I had some nice takes doing this, but couldn't convert them.

Bring on the 14 footer! Long fly rods used to scare me. They seemed excessive (what are you compensating for?). I caught a nice trout last night in a seam that required casts around 90' to get into the good water. It also required an initial mend that picked up all the fly line and some of the leader to get the fly down and presenting correctly in the seam. I got it right a few times and was rewarded accordingly with a nice sized trout. (pics later, my phone doesn't seem to want to push pics up to google right now...)