Recommendations for a 3wt trout spey reel

Hi All,

I'm new to spey fishing (just bought a 3 weight trout spey rod but haven't fished it) and was wondering that size reel would be good for a 3 weight trout spey set up given the higher capacity needed for spey and running lines. I'm guessing the my Ross C-1 or C-2 won't cut it. I've read that you should go up about two line sizes in reels when using a reel for spey fishing for the equal line weight and since I read it on the internet I know it must be true! Also does having a large arbor matter that much, especially on a trout spey setup? For those that have trout spey setups and fish them, how often do you really go into the backing, I'm not saying I don't need it just curious as to how much I actually need (100yds, 50yds, 20yds, 10yds).

If any one has a reel they would recommend or want to sell that fits the task please let me know!

Thanks everyone in advance for your help!

Attachments

Your 3wt spey is the equivalent of a 6 wt single hander. It depends on what fly line you choose (mono or integrated running line) but look for any reel that can handle a WF6 or WF7 line and whatever amount of backing you feel comfortable with. Your C-2 will likely work just fine.

You definitely don't "need" a large arbor reel. I like 100+ yards of backing on mine, as I have hooked steelhead while fishing for SRC.
I personally like clickers on my trout spey/switch rods. A used SA/Hardy Marquis 7 would be a nice choice!

It depends on the length of the rod, for anything over 11' I would recommend using a reel thats three weights over.

I have a Redington Rise 7/8 on my Hydrogen and that works very nice, however I'm not a huge fan of the reel itself. I also have an Abel Super 5N for it, but theres no fish I'm going to hook with the 3WT thats going to really pull that reel.

I think a cheaper click-and-pawl would be better, something like an Orvis Battenkill IV in a click-and-pawl would be a lot of fun.

Thanks for the replies!