Thoughts on this grip?

GrantA

I've been lurking on here for a little while, I've honestly never cast a fly but am determined to learn! I'm building a few rods for myself, one of which is a 9ft 9wt 4pc pacbay blank. I'm making foam core carbon fiber grips and read a little about shaping to fit your hand. This is what I came up with.
Please critique it, I'd rather get it right now!
Thanks!
Grant
7F9BED0F-0329-41BC-A177-DB5B6A627F97.jpeg BB82BD3C-51EE-4D94-9405-A0C06F685267.jpeg AC218E5B-99C9-449A-8A54-961D04846AD7.jpeg

Grip is such a personal preference is tough to call, my buddy sands most of his factory grips down, but I've never felt the need too. If it feels good, you're good to go. I have felt a couple grips that felt a bit too big.

I'm curious, do you shape the foam core, then wrap it in carbon tape, or a heat shrink tube?

GrantA

What I've read is that you want your thumb straight at 12:00 and fingertips to hit in the 9-10:00 area. I'm brand new to fly so I thought I'd ask you guys.

@SaltyCutt its not tape or shrink, it's a woven sleeve that tightens like a Chinese finger trap. I'll post more pics as I go. Here's one of my first attempt, this was before I tried adding black dye and i got a better foam core on the newer batch so Im remaking them
32694C91-2B8C-4D04-A0AB-850EE87146DD.jpeg

Just for you @DanielOcean
Here's one end of the foam I started with haha. I'm using pvc pipe as a mold and the endcap gave me this
07642659-41E6-47B1-9DA9-0C07A8158D08.jpeg

Old Man

Just an Old Man
I think everybody hold their fly rod differently. I grip it like your holding on to a hose. or a bicycle handle. I tried the thumb on top but it never took. Some people hold their index finger on the top. It just looks awkward to me.

GAT

Dumbfounded