How would you fish this situation?

I originally had this in the fly fishing forum and it was suggested that I place it here. I copied and pasted; I hope that was ok.

Hello, I’m new to fly fishing this year. Every year kings attack baitfish within easy casting distance behind my house. This happens to all the properties north and south of me (I live on one of the San Juan Islands). This action always happens sometime in the last week of June until around July 4th. I’ve tried in the past with spoons and Buzz Bombs but no luck; my luck was the same the last 2 nights fly fishing. Oh this surface explosion always happens from about 2 hours to the peak high tide in the evening until the actual peak and tapers off. I have an 8wt Aetos with WF8F line. The only flies I have right now are ones that my son-in-law purchased for sea run cutthroats. I’ve been using the biggest Clousers he had, which were not very big. I’ve tried a variety of stripping tempos. There are so many baitfish; I figure I have to tie or purchase flies that stand out in a crowd. Even though my offerings have been totally ignored, it’s really neat to see all of that surface action. The fish I’ve seen that totally clear the water have looked to bein the 20 lb size range. I have a Hobie kayak I can take out but plenty of active fish are within reach. Any suggestions?

Bob

I originally had this in the fly fishing forum and it was suggested that I place it here. I copied and pasted; I hope that was ok.