New Member - New Flier - Looking for local places to fly fish around Bothell/Lynnwood

Hi all,

New member here, I just got a 5wt pole recently and I'm practicing my casting. I'm having fun doing it but my casts are very short, so I'm continuing to give it more time.

I figure it might be fun to cast into a place that actually has fish so I can also get some joy from hooking something. Could anyone suggest anywhere nearby that may have little panfish or trout. I'm looking for nearby since I'm still learning, I don't want to commit to a 1.5 hour drive until I can cast a little better.

Thanks!

Little blue lines are those things on maps that indicate moving water.

Before you create a bunch of bad habits casting get some lessons.,
The little bit it costs will save you hours of grief and frustration. There are very few fly fishers that wouldn't benefit with an hour or two of personalized coaching.

Dave

Little blue lines are those things on maps that indicate moving water.

Before you create a bunch of bad habits casting get some lessons.,
The little bit it costs will save you hours of grief and frustration. There are very few fly fishers that wouldn't benefit with an hour or two of personalized coaching.

Dave
Thanks for the info. You make a very good point, I should just take a class to get a nice introduction. Do you think this might be sufficient:

https://pacificflyfishers.com/collections/classes/products/introduction-to-fly-fishing

or something like this guy:

http://nwflycasting.com/

GAT

Dumbfounded
OMJ is Old Man Jim. He's the one who normally talks about seeking out the blue lines.