Curt Gowdy PG-40 rod

I have a Berkley Para/Metric rod: Curt Gowdy PG-40 8'6"
Does anyone know this rod? I'm new to flyfishing so don't really know what I've got. It's about 30 years old and never been used. I'm wondering what weight it might be. There's no other markings on it.
Appreciate any help on tkis one.... J

I used to have a fiberglass 8' 6" Berkley Para/Metric fly rod, burgandy blank, brown reelseat, long, slender handle. It was a 7-weight, and my standard heavy trout rod in the pre-graphite era.

Johnny,
That was in it's day, a real sweet rod. By today's standard, it is a really slow rod. Those will flex way down into the butt when casting. It will be a 6 or 7wt. I am really a fan of that kind of old glass and would be glad to buy it from you if you are interested in selling. Let me know,
Keith

Zen Piscator

Supporting wild steelhead, gravel to gravel.
Keith, what is with u and fiberglass? I havn't fished it much. What are the advantages over graphite. Or, do you just enjoy fishing slower rods? I think i may have to pick up a short glass rod and automatic reel for little creeks.

East Fork

"What are the advantages (of glass) over graphite ?"

That would be an interesting thread all by itself. My initial reaction was none - that's why everybody laid down their glass rods and bought graphite. Graphite is stronger, lighter and can be engineered to produce any action a guy wants to cast (my apologies to bamboo fans but its true). Personally I think graphite is the best rod building material in the history of the universe. Still, I drag out my old Finwick Fenglass a couple times a year. :) :) :)

Zen Piscator

Supporting wild steelhead, gravel to gravel.
just to clarify, the fiberglass used in fly rods is much much stronger and more durable than graphite.

Peace,
Andy

East Fork

"just to clarify, the fiberglass used in fly rods is much much stronger and more durable than graphite"

Zen, I'll take your word for it but the rods are much heavier and weaker.