Trip Report 1.5 days on the Yak

Western Washington rivers were at flood stage Friday. I had a 2 day hall pass to capitalize on. What is a guy to do? Go east, that's what.

Left home at 5:16am Saturday. Arrived at the local fly shop at 8:45 to pick up walk-n-wade tips and a selection of nymphs to try.

At the first hole by 10am casting lightning bug and olive scud right angle nymph setup under an indicator. I'm new to nymphing but knew that the mornings required this type of fishing before the BWO hatch came off so may as well try. 3rd cast and the indicator disappears, hook set and flash of fish scales, holy sh** it worked?! A small 6-7" rainbow had taken the scud, my first nymphing success story.

20181103_101559.jpg

Laughing at my blind luck I continued to fish the nymph rig until I saw fish rising in the next pool downstream. Like turning on a light switch there were BWOs everywhere so I set about changing over to a dry fly setup. Fishing size 14 and 16 BWOs is tough on the eyes and after a few long staring contests with floating flies I looked away to take in the scenery and the next thing I knew I had a tug and I had totally missed the take. This scarred rainbow put up a heck of a fight and actually got the drag to kick in on a short run before coming to the net.

20181103_110018.jpg

I missed a few fish to early sets and a bad clinch knot (first time that's happened in a while) before calling it for the day. There were lots of people out on Saturday, maybe with the same plan I had to run from the west side deluge?

Woke up to this visitor on my tent tarp in the morning. Looked like fish food to me.

20181104_064843.jpg