How Much Photo Editing is Too Much?

Kyle Smith

DBA BozoKlown406
I'm not new to taking fishing pictures, but I would say I am new to taking it seriously. I bought a couple used mirrorless(Oly) camera bodies, a few lenses, and spent the winter learning all I can.

Taking pictures is fun. Especially pictures of things you love to see and do.

I have downloaded several apps on my tablet to tinker with the images. Instagram filters are cheesy for the most part. I've been using Snapseed and Lightroom, along with a few others. Post production editing is a blast.

My question for those of you with some experience: how do you know when to stop editing? I don't want my images to scream "fake filtered garbage". But I do want colors to pop the way they do in person.

Adobe_20190324_111234-01.jpeg
Two things I love. My dog and the river. She hates the water.

wadin' boot

Donny, you're out of your element...
The chance any of us are going to financially viable home runs with our hobbies is slim to none. Once you divorce yourself from that idea, who cares what others think about how you bring your ideas into the light of day? Personally that picture above I immediately notice the dog in the cloud and that makes it more interesting. What might be more fun is seeing someone's work you really like, and trying to do similar stuff. An artist you might be into who does cool things in monochrome is this guy, Mark Tansey. He's pure genius at tucking multiple ideas into one image:

1553455495059.png

Skip Enge

Uck Uck Uck, bitches
I played with image editing ... and the Adobe suite for 20 years... as a job and screwing around...I never thought of it as art per se'...franc and I came up with a wild idea...to write a imaginary script for an Ice show...Nosferatu on ice...a theme song and this poster...all for grins...and for me PS practice... 13043295_10206684104762843_6003143916588878981_n.jpg

jwg