Fly fishing recommendations

Hi all--

I am brand new to fly fishing. I am a Seattle native and am wondering if anyone has any recommendations for where I should go fly fishing in the area. What spots are best this time of year?

Any advice would be much appreciated!

Thanks,
CP

If I lived on the wet side I would put most of my effort in fishing the beaches in the salt. Big learning curve, but way worth it in the long run.
The open head waters of any of the S rivers.
Get a floating devise and hit the bluegill water (still water, lakes), a very good way to learn to fly fish.
And most important.
Welcome aboard mate

KerryS

Ignored Member
Get a float tube or some other small water craft and start with lakes. You can learn to cast, stripping and line control all while periodically being rewarded with the occasional fish. It is getting a bit late in the year for some lakes but if you can find a lake or two that haven’t warmed to much you can still catch some lively planters. Once you have learned to cast, understand how to control your line and how to catch a fish or two progress on to streams or the beach. Learning to cast now will benefit you for years to come so perhaps look into getting some instruction on casting.

Welcome aboard !!! Get casting down first (very important) if you have a friend or family member to teach you start with that if not take some casting lessens, you'll be glad you did. The rest will come with research and exploring whats out there. Good luck !

C&CRods

not your average member
Depending on where you live, Go visit your local shop for great info on what to start with, and make friends with the dudes at the counter. I live close by the Avid Angler in lake forest park and everyone there goes above and beyond. I often see introduction to flyfishing classes offered as well there. Welcome to the long journey of fly fishing!

Old Man

Just an Old Man
Hi all--