Loop to Loop Question

I am new to fly fishing and the leaders I bought did not come with a loop, is a perfection loop the best way to add one myself? I also have nothing to compare it to so approximately how long do I want the loop to be?

Dustin Bise

Hot-spotting Sheriff.
i prefer to do a 6 turn clinch not directly onto the fly loop instead of a loop to loop connection. i still use loop to loop for things like sink tips and poly leaders

Jojo

Trout Thank Me
What about a nail knot? Which one is better to use? I was going to change my leader yesterday and realized my leader was knotless. I do not know how to tie on a nail knot. I had Anil from Puget Sound Fly Shop do it for me last time.

Jiminsandiego

I have learned a few knots in my day. That being said once I spent the five bucks on "leader links" I've never looked back. I also use leader rings, which I find very useful. Fly line to tapered leader using the (genuine) "leader link" tied to a leader ring...tippet tied to same ring. This is the "cleanest" easiest way I have found. Mostly all I ever do is change my tippet tied to the leader ring.

jamma

What about a nail knot? Which one is better to use? I was going to change my leader yesterday and realized my leader was knotless. I do not know how to tie on a nail knot. I had Anil from Puget Sound Fly Shop do it for me last time.