Let's Talk Two-Handed Beach Rods

wetswinger

Thought I would talk a little about two handed fly rods used for overhead casting on the beach. This isn’t about single hand vs. double hand or any of that stuff. Just talking two hand beach rods. I've been using two handed fly rods for about four years now. Started using them mainly because I could hardly fish anymore because of a bad right shoulder. As it continued to worsen I couldn't go for more than an hour single hand casting and it would hurt for days afterwards. Tried some spey casting, as it was all the rage, and found I could fish for a few hours without as much pain. About this same time I returned to Puget Sound after working in Utah for a few years and started fishing for salmon and SRC off the neighborhood beach using a casting rod with a bubble and fly outfit, which actually worked quite well. But l soon started using my 13' spey rod overhead on the beach and was hooked. Now I rarely fish rivers. Without a boat, river fishing here is an epic struggle. Obviously a 13' spey rod is not ideal for overhead casting, so I have bought and used a couple of different switch rods. First a 12-footer and now a 11' Echo SR. I still wasn't satisfied as the switch rods, when cast overhead, just don't seem to have that nice crisp snap to them that a good single hand rod has. Something was missing. As I read some East Coast striper blogs, they would mention using two handed rods designed specifically for overhead casting. These are a rare breed with only a very few commercial rods available. The list includes: the Beulah two hand Opal, the Thomas and Thomas Exocett and the Echo Boost Beach. Out of production but possible to find is the G.Loomis Crosscurrent Specialized and the CND Atlantis/Oceana. Many others are built by local rod-builders using available blanks. I was able to find a CND Oceana 9# at a great price on close-out (ballisticlines.com) and have been using it for the last few weeks and couldn't be happier. It’s