Steelhead on the menu?

Yadwick

Maybe we should all call. I recall when i saw that Herbfarm had steelhead on one of their seasonal menus. I called them up to ask about their sourcing. I was told that the chef (or whomever orders the goods) wouldn't talk over the phone but i could come down on a wednesday at around 11am and they would chat with me.....the jackwagons at Monterrey Bay Seafood Watch still have wild steelhead listed as a "good alternative"....

guy_fly

My guess is these are farmed fish, and they are confusing (obfuscating?) "wild" with the marketing term "native" (the later obvious in response to recent concerns over pen-reared Atlantic salmon). Below are links appropriate to this discussion:

13.robb

As a professional chef myself, I can say that generally, most chefs are pretty ignorant and/or apathetic about the environmental impact of food production, wild or cultivated.
When it comes to fish, anything that’s not from a net pen will be labelled “wild”. I would be surprised if anybody in my kitchen at work knew what an adipose fin is, or the difference between hatchery and truly wild genetics. Most of these people just think it’s some fancy salmon with a cool name they can overcharge other morons for. The “wild” steelhead that I have encountered at work are generally hook&line caught by native fisherman. All of this being said, it breaks my heart every time to see these increasingly rare fish turned in to thursday night supper for rubes, out of towners, and other assholes.

winxp_man

Steelhead Bum
As a professional chef myself, I can say that generally, most chefs are pretty ignorant and/or apathetic about the environmental impact of food production, wild or cultivated.