Meiser trout spey and OPST line weight

Owyhee

Hello!

I just received a new rod, S2H1004S-4, 10 foot 4 weight for trout fishing in Idaho. I'm trying to get the line weight dialed in. I've gotten multiple recommendations for what weight OPST commando head to use on this. Anywhere from 200-300 grains.

Does anyone have experience with this rod in particular and what it likes? I am using a 7.5 foot s4 sink tip and have a 10 foot float tip both from OPST. Primarily fishing streamers, but also large foam dries for an upcoming trip.

I'm very new to 2H and spey, so any help would be appreciated

Bob Rankin

Tuglife
WFF Supporter
If OPST recommended a certain line weigh, I would go with that. Probably around 225gr with some 10’ 96gr sink tips would work. You will also want a Scandi as well for fishing floating line stuff.

Just my thoughts...

Owyhee

They gave me a situational answer, sometimes 225, sometimes 250. Maybe dropping down to 200 at times as well. Only one is in the budget right now so maybe I'll try the 225 with a 10 foot tip. Wish I had a local dealer and could try the different options!

Owyhee

Call Bob Meiser - he will sort you out for sure.
(541) 770-4766
When I was on the phone buying the rod from him he suggested I talk with OPST for suggestions he did mention 300-325 for a scandi head so maybe that's where I should shoot for total weight with the opst stuff?

Sorry. I'm new to these concepts

longskagit

My dreams wander the rivers
hmmm...well, the rod states 250-300 Skagit Head, and the OPST run different than a "standard (can I eve say that anymore?)" Skagit head.

If it was mine, I would go with a 225g Commando for starters since that rod is unique in its own right (10' single hand, with two handed applications). The OPST starting point on the single-hand line chart shows a 200g for a 4wt/10' and up rod. I think 275/300g heads would prove awkward.

Does Poppy @ Red Shed still offer a line loaner program?

Mark Koch