Streamer-Fly Fishing

cdnred

I'm relatively new to fly fishing and started to read a book called "Streamer-Fly Fishing", it's an older book put out in 1991. Reading thru it, I learned a lot about streamer fishing, how streamers are fished and if done correctly it'll catch some nice fish. It mentioned that young fish start off by feeding on insects and then transition over to bait fish and sculpins which streamers attempt to imitate. It also stated that once fish transitioned over to bait fish and sculpins that it allowed the fish to grow much larger as a result. The book also gave me the impression that some fishermen are fishing streamers exclusively. I wanted to find out how others feel about streamers and if there are some people that fish streamers exclusively or only as a supplement along with dry flies. Can streamers be productively used year round or just seasonally when the hatch is off..?

Randall Clark

Huge Fly Guy
Do a quick search of the site and you'll find more info than you know what to do with.

One of my favorite streamer eats was during a crazy bwo hatch. I crept up on a really nice rising fish casually sipping on bwos, threw my 3" sculpin pattern up above and about 5-10' out from it. I've never seen a fish flip a u-turn quite so quickly and smash a streamer (I was ripping it FAST). Sometimes they just want meat, even on rivers that are supposedly not "streamer rivers"

David Loy

Senior Moment
Kelly Galloup is a wealth of knowledge, particularly on streamer fishing. But, keep in mind that he’s got big carnivorous Browns in his neighborhood. With a few exceptions, we don’t (in WA). Some of his biggest baddest streamers would scare the fins off our meager rainbows and cutthroat. I just don’t imagine success throwing half chickens at the fish I see.
I believe Randall fishes Pike some of the time, and some here target Bull Trout, so there are exceptions.

cdnred